Why I Read

*Written for the Brattleboro Literary Festival

 

I read to escape.

To visit far away lands

That I have not been to.

 

I read to relax.

To have the adventures my body

Is too tired to have.

 

I read to think.

To expand my mind,

As well as my world.

 

I read to connect.

With writers, authors

And past generations.

 

I read to be a voyeur

Into someone else’s world

And mind.

 

I read to energize

My spirit and

My soul.

 

I read to soothe my daughter.

To fill her mind with stories

As she drifts off to sleep.

 

I read to remember,

Places I have been,

Times that have passed.

 

I read to write.

To be inspired,

To never give up.

 

And sometimes,

Just sometimes,

I read.

Just because.

Leave a Reply

